Home / Library / Books / Simplified Islamic Laws for Young Adults by Ayatollah Safi

Simplified Islamic Laws for Young Adults by Ayatollah Safi

The practical laws of Islam that are related to the actions that one must perform and those that must be avoided, and are the responsibility of everyone to learn, are called the Ahkam(rules).

Every action that a person performs has a specific ruling in Islam. The various actions that we perform, which are related to our responsibility (to Allah) are divided into five categories: Wajib, Haram, Mustahab, Makruh, and Mubah.

Wajib: Those actions that must be performed, and turning away from them, incur Allah’s punishment – for example Salat, and Sawm.

Haram: Those actions which must be avoided, and performing them incur punishment from Allah, like lying and oppression.

Mustahab: These are actions which are recommended to be performed and earn the person a reward, but not performing such actions do not incur punishment from Allah – for example saying Salam and giving Sadaqa.

Makruh: Those actions which are better if not performed, and if avoided, earn a reward, but if performed, do not accompany a punishment – for example, sleeping in a Masjid, and the praising of goods that a person sells (otherwise known as advertising).

Mubah: Those actions whose performance or turning away from are equal; meaning one neither gets are ward, nor punishment – for example walking or sitting.

Download the Book in PDF

About Ali Teymoori

Check Also

Shia & Sunni Muslims Attend Conference on “Message of the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH)” in Pakistan

The great conference “Message of the Prophet Mohammad (PBUH)” with the axis of boosting Islamic solidarity was held as a number of senior Shia and Sunni authorities attended the event in...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Google Analytics Alternative